Skip to content

Cold

January 22, 2010

My poor Plumeria did not like our freezing weather. This one was a lovely 15 foot specimen that burned back badly last year during a freeze. The one small limb that survived took a hit with the hard freezes this year. Not sure if this one will survive.  I was playing around with different filters and blend modes and added a texture.  And being interrupted and distracted a few times I don’t know how I ended up with this image!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 1:04 pm

    Great capture – I like the colors in the blurred background. Also like how gnarled and sort of chiseled the branch looks.

  2. Rachel permalink
    January 22, 2010 1:28 pm

    I really like the background. You’ve created a really great effect, even if you don’t know how you did it.

  3. January 22, 2010 3:17 pm

    I also like the sombreness of this but was surprised to hear that it was a 15″ plant as I was going to comment on it being a great Macro Shot, it has a strong feeling of that for me!

  4. Tammy McChesney permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:49 pm

    wonderful shot and I am really loving the processing done to this! I’m w/ Ron, I can’t believe the size it used to be…..I hope it comes around next year (I want to see another pic of it in it’s prime)! 🙂

  5. January 22, 2010 10:01 pm

    WOW..you really have to click on this to see it’s full beauty. Love the hints of blue in the flowers still.

  6. January 23, 2010 8:40 pm

    A great close-up. I love the DOF.

  7. February 1, 2010 8:05 am

    What a nice image. I agree that you did a great job even if you are not sure what you did!

Leave a Reply

